Electric President – Sleep Well

I’ve always been a big fan of the electronic/pop duo Electric President. I still listen to their 2006 self-titled release all the time, and one member, Ben Cooper, has a really neat solo project called Radical Face. An obvious comparison for Electric President, for those who need it, is the Postal Service, though Electric President combines electronic with real instruments.

Electric President have a new album coming out June 24 (digitally, June 6) called Sleep Well. I’ve been previewing it over the last few weeks, and even though I don’t like it as much as their debut album, it contains some great songs.

The best songs on the album include “We Will Walk Through Walls,” “Robophobia,” “Ether,” and “It’s like a Hearbeat, Only It Isn’t.” “We Will Walk Through Walls” is by far my favorite—I can’t stop listening to it. “Ether” is a beautiful instrumental, one of the best I have heard in a while. The song adds a lot to the album and is one of the reasons I love Electric President so much. The guys are passionate about music, and it comes through in their songs. I feel great when listening to them. This is definitely going to be one of my summer albums.

Electric President is Ben Cooper and Alex Kane. They are based out of Jacksonville, Florida and signed to morr music. I know more about Ben because of his solo project, Radical Face, and I would highly recommend you check out his blog. Though he doesn’t update it all that often, it’s really enjoyable to read, and he often shares extra songs and instrumentals he creates. One of his posts from 5 months ago was about his piano:

But a couple weeks ago, something lame happened — my piano died. I’ve had this piano for about two years. It cost me nothing. There was an ad in the local paper saying “Free Piano If You Are Willing to Pick it Up and Move It Yourself.” It was an old flat top wurlitzer upright, and it sounded like a haunted house. The people just wanted it out of their living room. I was happy to oblige.


These guys are awesome. Please support them when the album drops in June.

Sleep Well (2008):

Electric President- Monsters

S/T (2006)…recorded in 2004-2005:

Electric President- Grand Machine No. 14

Electric President – Good Morning, Hypocrite

You Have The Right To Remain Awesome EP(2006):

Electric President -Wearing Influences On Our Sleeve-less T-Shirts

Radical Face – Ghost:

Radical Face- Welcome Home, Son

Radical Face – Wrapped in Piano Strings

Site| Amazon | iTunes| Myspace




5 thoughts on “Electric President – Sleep Well

  1. I heard “Insomnia” what felt like eons ago, and thought it was wonderful. Thanks for reminding what a great band these guys are.

  2. Pingback: indiemuse.com » Ben Cooper - Patients

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my
    own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get
    setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *